Behind My Hands

Standard

IMG_6005.JPG

Haunting eyes stare through the darkness
Faces flash into view
Hollow lines trace the outlines of those watching
Conversations straining under the weight of the night
Silhouettes of emotional calculations
and burning questions of “is this me?”
I close my eyes to hide
Shutting out the indistinct realities of people I’ve never really known
All of the while, ignoring the pain of the days lost with all of their potential happiness
Instead, leaving self with the indescribable bitter endings
These halfway conclusions filling up with mind numbing confusions
So fresh I can taste it
We relate to these shadows of potential when our memories are gone forever
Feeling each similarity of disappointment as each random thought of unaccomplishment floats to the surface
Haunting eyes stare through the darkness
Even with my face hiding behind my hands

I am grateful for new beginnings and happy news ❤

Leave a comment