Weightlessness

Standard

6-24-08

 

It’s all make believe when we know we can’t see

Weightlessness is only a mistake of gravity’s

There have been countless nights when I thought I was dreaming

I lived through it all but dismissed the reasoning

The sounds I live drown out the constant ticking

Those rhythmic beats that thunder in my ears

The minutes flash by like tiny bolts of lightning

Fanless kisses freeze away all of the tears

I’m stuck in this body, right hand under head

One ear faced up to wait for the call

How long has it been, since I’ve heard such words of brilliance

I can’t sleep when I hear nothing at all

 

Are you here watching me?

Does my solitude not frighten you away?

I can only dream when you sing me to sleep

Please stay with me to help me see it’s never too late

 

It’s all make believe when we know we can’t see

Weightlessness is only a mistake of gravity’s

There have been countless nights when I thought I was dreaming

I lived through it all but dismissed the reasoning

I’ve spent too many nights waiting for answers

Too many days that leave me with more questions

I’ve tried so hard to conquer these wounds and deliver

But every try I fail and I’m back for more

I don’t know how to explain it, just call me crazy

I’ll admit that I’ve never really known

Maybe you can see me and are here to save me

From this world that I have created on my own

 

I guess I could wait another night, if I must

One more dreamless night shouldn’t kill me

I’ll keep waiting for you, or the voices I’ve come to trust

Tomorrow will bring another long day of second guessing

 

 

I am grateful for the melody that is constantly playing in my head. ❤

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

