Knock

Standard

Knock, knock, knock, knock, knock…

The repetitive banging
Off-beat but continuously striking
“Wake up!” it says
But I always assume that
it’s all about me

I lay here questioning the urgency
A message to me, to you,
to everybody, the universe
A slew of emotions
tumbling topsy turvy
Penetrating my thoughts and
giving voices to the faces

A conversation of unimportant
sentences that are completely unassociated with anything
worthy of interest
To me, there I go again

The hammering slows as
laughter flows in through
the basement window
Intermixed within the jovial chirping
of the sparrows
Happily munching on the seed
I just purchased

The sWOosh of each car that passes
A different noise adding to
the consistent nonsense draining
my awareness
Proclaiming innocent happiness
Unknowing that not everyone
feels the same

I am grateful for change ❤

One response »

  1. Pingback: Monthly Archives: July 2014 | Muse Writer

Leave a Reply

